FAQ’s

Q. Faut-il d’abord chercher une maison, ou trouver une école pour nos enfants ?  Qu’arrive-t-il si nous trouvons une maison dans une région, mais pas d’école et vice versa ? Est-ce que les impôts sont les mêmes partout?

tax-property-school

R. Ce triangle éternel démontre ce à quoi la plupart des personnes venant s’établir en Suisse doivent faire face. La réponse est simple: Le taux de logements vacants en Suisse est beaucoup plus faible qu’aux Etats-Unis, Royaume-Uni ou bien qu’en France par exemple. Ces dernières années, la communauté internationale a fait pression sur toutes sortes de ressources locales – même si la qualité de vie ici reste très élevée, cela a conduit à une pénurie de places dans les écoles, l’évolution en terme de logistique et de transport et des choix parfois difficiles à faire. Nous vous suggérons qu’avant de faire quoi que ce soit, nous discutions en détails tous les besoins de votre famille, tels que:
• Est-ce que l’un d’entre vous, ou les deux travaillera en Suisse?
• Si oui, travaillerez vous en Suisse ou la Suisse sera uniquement votre résidence et votre travail s’effectuera à l’étranger ?
• Avez-vous des enfants ? Si oui devront-il aller à l’école ici? Seront-ils toujours scolarisés en Suisse ou suivront-ils une école à l’étranger pendant un certain temps?
• Êtes-vous délocalisés en Suisse dans le cadre d’une institution/entreprise internationale ou comme individu?
• Devez-vous régulièrement vous rendre vers une destination locale?
• Devez-vous vous rendre régulièrement à l’aéroport?
• Allez-vous acheter une autre résidence, par exemple pour faire du ski?
• Combien de temps passerez-vous en Suisse?
• Avez-vous une première idée pour le choix d’une localité dans quelle région? Pourquoi pensez-vous cela?
•  Serez-vous à la recherche d’un accord fiscal préalable ou payerez-vous l’impôt sur vos revenus?
Ce n’est qu’après avoir discuté de toutes ces questions avec vous que nous pourrons vous guider sur les points mentionnés sur le triangle éternel, à savoir : Maison/Ecole et impôts.

Q. Y’a-t-il une différence selon le canton où j’habite? J’ai entendu dire qu’il y avait trois principaux cantons en Suisse occidentale?
R. Il y en a en fait plus que cela, bien que ces trois soient les plus recherchés par notre clientèle internationale. Il peut y avoir une grande différence sur divers aspects selon le canton que vous habitez. Nous pourrons en discuter lors de notre premier rendez-vous.
Q. Pourquoi les maisons en apparence sont-elles si chères ici? Est-ce un bon investissement?
R. Les belles propriétés sont très chères en Suisse romande à la fois proches du lac et des montagnes; peut-être même comparables à celles localisée au centre de Londres. Cette situation reflète la pénurie de type anglo-saxon et la taille du logement ainsi que la demande des acheteurs.  Les ventes de maisons peuvent parfois prendre plus de temps ici, mais elles sont toujours vendues à des personnes qui sont prêtes à payer le prix! Cependant, les taux d’intérêt sont très bas en comparaison avec les normes internationales. Les hypothèques peuvent être de longues durées. De ce fait, les dépenses réelles sont similaires, voire moins chères en comparaison à un grand nombre d’autres endroits. L’achat d’une propriété en Suisse reste intéressant étant donné que ce marché est toujours attractif et que l’histoire a montré que le marché helvétique est l’un des marchés immobiliers les plus stables du monde. Les perspectives pour la Suisse en termes de prix de l’immobilier sont encourageantes.  Le franc suisse est fort car il est considéré comme une monnaie refuge et les investissements immobiliers dans le pays sont considérés par beaucoup comme étant un investissement sûr. De la même manière, les logements en location en Suisse sont très coûteux et certaines personnes qui ne sont pas pour du court terme basées en Suisse souhaitent louer à long terme. Il est important de comprendre pour ceux qui cherchent un accord fiscal que le calcul débutera sur la valeur locative de la maison que vous louerez ou posséderez. Si tel est votre cas, nous devrons en discuter lors de notre premier entretien.
Q. Est-il facile de trouver de belles maisons bien proportionnées, modernes, avec une belle cuisine et de grandes salles de bains?
R. Il est très difficile de répondre à cela étant donné que c’est très subjectif. En général, les habitations suisses sont plus petites que dans d’autres régions du monde!  Les maisons plus anciennes ont des pièces plus petites, de petites cuisines ainsi qu’une salle à manger séparée, ce qui ne correspond plus vraiment au style de vie des familles modernes. C’est une caractéristique de ces maisons anciennes qui peut être moins fonctionnelle; la porte d’entrée est très souvent sur le côté nord de la maison. Des maisons modernes peuvent être parfois insuffisamment ou mal finies pour un acheteur averti, ou bien encore mal situées. Bien sûr, il y a des propriétés merveilleuses, et il est de notre devoir de trouver le bien immobilier qui vous convient.  Si nous ne pouvons pas trouver exactement, nous avons cependant des liens étroits avec une organisation locale, qui développe le marché de propriétés extraordinaires de la région et peut travailler avec des architectes locaux pour réaliser quelque chose qui sera adapté à vos besoins personnels.
Q. Five and more facture des frais d’avance alors que d’autres agents ne le font pas. Quelle est la raison?
A. La première chose que nous devons souligner, c’est que ce montant est déductible lors d’un achat éventuel pour lequel five and more recevra une commission de vente directement du propriétaire ou de l’agent exclusif si ce n’est pas nous. Donc, au moment de l’achat de votre maison par l’intermédiaire de Five and more, vous n’aurez rien à payer de plus qu’en passant par un autre agent immobilier.
Cependant, comme nous allons vous fournir un service sur mesure en vous aidant de manière proactive sur tous les aspects de votre déménagement en Suisse tels que les écoles, les impôts et autres services qui vous permettront de trouver le lieu de résidence adapté, nous devons nous protéger contre les personnes qui bénéficieraient de tous ces conseils lors d’un premier entretien sans acheter leur maison via Five and more mais via une autre agence.
Si vous êtes un acheteur sérieux, nous pouvons vous offrir beaucoup plus qu’une agence immobilière. Et ceci sans aucun frais si vous passez par nous. Nous nous pencherons sur la pertinence de ce que vous souhaitez acheter et où vous souhaitez l’acheter. Nous travaillerons toujours à partir de l’éternel triangle concernant les impôts, les écoles et la maison et nous étudierons les moyens de transport de la maison à votre lieu de travail, dans quelles écoles vous pourriez inscrire vos enfants. Notre objectif n’est pas de vous vendre une maison uniquement, mais de vous mettre à disposition notre expertise et notre valeur ajoutée.
Q. Le processus d’achat est-il simple?
A. Dans la plupart des cas la transaction immobilière se fait facilement. Très souvent, nos clients ont peu de temps à disposition lors de leur visite en Suisse ce qui découle sur des séjours très intenses. Nous avons eu certains clients qui ont visité plusieurs maisons en quelques jours et sont allés signer l’acte de vente chez le notaire avant de repartir, le travail terminé ! Mais ce n’est pas la plus grande majorité. Il est souvent possible de mettre une option sur la maison pour quelques jours de réflexion et sans coût. En Suisse, le notaire agit pour le compte du vendeur et de l’acheteur. En général c’est l’acheteur qui choisit le notaire avec lequel il a envie de travailler. Nous pouvons vous recommander des notaires avec qui nous avons travaillé durant de nombreuses années. La plupart des notaires et en particulier ceux que nous pouvons vous recommander, vont vous accompagner dans toutes les démarches administratives et vous conseiller sur le financement ou sur d’autres sujets si cela leur semble inapproprié ou trop cher. Il est possible de signer une vente à terme avec un acompte de 10% du prix de vente non-remboursable avec un transfert de propriété différé dans le temps. Durant ce laps de temps, le notaire procédera à toutes les recherches et vérifications juridiques nécessaires sur la propriété y compris les servitudes qui peuvent grever le bien-fonds. Une servitude est un accord juridique conclu antérieurement par le propriétaire du bien.  Par exemple, il peut y avoir une servitude par rapport à la hauteur de la haie afin de ne pas entraver la vue d’un voisin.  Les acheteurs doivent également être conscients que si les Suisses ont la réputation d’être très précis, cela vient du fait que chaque commune a son propre règlement communal stipulant par exemple la hauteur des haies, les jours de tonte autorisés (en général dimanche, jour de repos !) et d’autres règles inhabituelles. Des communes peuvent être plus restrictives que d’autres. En général et si vous nous le demandez, nous pourrons vous donner des explications sur ces restrictions et établir un rapport détaillé, sur votre propriété et ses alentours ce qui peut vous être très utile, à peu de frais. Dans la plupart des cas les transactions immobilières se font facilement et sont très bien organisées en Suisse.
Q. J’ai besoin d’un prêt à long terme ou temporaire pour effectuer cet achat. Quelle est la marche à suivre?
R. C’est l’une des nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles choisir Five and more est une bonne idée.  Nous avons d’excellentes relations avec de nombreux établissements bancaires cantonaux, internationaux ou avec des banques privées qui partagent le même sens du service que nous : personnalisé et à la mesure de vos besoins. Nous vous mettrons directement en contact avec eux.
Q. Est-ce normal d’avoir une expertise faite sur chaque bien immobilier en Suisse?
R. C’est en fait surprenant qu’il n’y en ait pas souvent. Les nouvelles constructions sont livrées avec une garantie de 2 ans fournies par le vendeur. En ce qui concerne les biens en revente, il n’y a aucune garantie. Il est plus prudent de se faire conseiller par un architecte ou de demander qu’une expertise soit faite par un expert immobilier dans le cas où aucune autre garantie n’est prévue. Nous pourrons nous occuper de cela si vous le souhaitez.
Q. Puis-je acheter une propriété en Suisse si ce n’est pas ma résidence principale?
R. Ça dépend! Dans la plupart des stations de ski, cela est possible, mais seulement dans les communes où il existe un quota. A Genève et au bord du lac ce n’est généralement pas possible, mais c’est le type de questions qui doivent être abordées lors de notre première réunion afin que nous puissions vous apporter les conseils appropriés.
Q. Quel est le coût réel de la vie en Suisse?
R. La Suisse est souvent perçue, à tort ou à raison, comme étant chère. Ce n’est pas nécessairement le cas par rapport  aux villes telles que New York, Londres et Paris et certainement pas par rapport à Moscou. Elle est également souvent considérée comme beaucoup moins chère qu’à Monte Carlo. Une grande partie du coût de la vie est semblable à celui du Royaume-Uni,  avec tout ce qui touche aux vêtements, biens de consommation, en revanche l’essence est beaucoup moins chère.  Un des plus gros coûts pour nombre de personnes est celui de la santé. La Suisse a un système obligatoire de soins qui est cher, mais généralement excellent! Le marché du travail est très bien protégé. De nombreux artisans et des compétences artisanales aujourd’hui disparus dans d’autres économies sont toujours disponibles ici, en Suisse.  Les voitures et certainement l’essence, sont beaucoup moins chères qu’ailleurs, en revanche les taxis sont, pour une raison inexpliquée très chers. D’une manière générale le coût de la vie est comparable à de nombreux autres endroits au monde. Nous avons un merveilleux style de vie, un climat agréable, du bon chocolat, et une vue imprenable!
Q. La sécurité règne-t-elle en Suisse?
R. En général, la Suisse est très sûre et c’est une des raisons qui attirent les gens qui veulent s’y établir.  Vous pouvez voir des petits enfants seuls aller à pied à l’école. Les homicides y sont très faibles. Un des principaux aspects attractifs de la vie en Suisse c’est un environnement sûr, ordonné et sécurisé.  La criminalité est malgré tout en augmentation, mais par rapport aux grands centres métropolitains elle reste toutefois faible. La société est respectueuse dans ce pays. Les piétons ont la priorité, le fait de dire bonjour et au revoir en entrant ou en sortant d’un magasin et d’un établissement public est normal_. Le mode de vie peut paraître plus lent, mais la plupart des gens s’adaptent très rapidement à cet état de fait et apprécie les vertus d’une société plus polie et civilisée.
Q. Est-il vrai que la Suisse est un pays ennuyeux?
R. Genève ne sera jamais New York ou Londres le samedi soir. D’autres prétendront que Verbier, c’est encore mieux! Tout dépend de votre statut et de votre style de vie.  La Suisse est un endroit idéal pour élever une famille et y vivre par la suite. Si vous avez 20 ans et que vous cherchez les lumières alors peut-être y a-t-il d’autres endroits où aller. Beaucoup de familles choisissent de construire leur vie familiale autour du ski le week-end en hiver ou pratiqueront la voile  ou le vélo en été, les possibilités sont infinies en plein air. Les sports les plus classiques sont abondants également. Le niveau de football est élevé, on peut aussi jouer au rugby, cricket, hockey sur glace, au tennis ainsi qu’au basketball. C’est aussi une région très riche au niveau culturel. Opéra, orchestre philharmonique et orchestres de chambre sont plus accessibles qu’à Paris ou à Londres. Il y a de nombreuses galeries dans toutes les villes, en particulier Genève et de nombreuses expositions temporaires de renommée mondiale. En été il y a trois grands festivals de rock ainsi que de jazz, notamment ceux de Montreux ou Nyon. De nombreux groupes de rock de renommée viennent en concert à Genève et il y a des compétitions de tennis et de golf de renommées internationales. Est-ce la rive gauche ou du West End de Londres? Non, ça n’a rien à voir, mais le style de vie est assez unique. Et rappelez-vous: Paris et Londres sont à seulement _une heure avec Easy Jet et Paris ou Milan à environ 3 heures de train.
Q. Apparemment la Suisse est très bureaucratique?
R. Le pays peut paraître bureaucratique pour les non-initiés aux pratiques locales.  Contrairement à leurs stéréotypes les Etats-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et la France sont des pays très bureaucratiques. La Russie peut être un champ de mines à vivre au niveau de la bureaucratie,  tant pour les indigènes et que pour les étrangers! La Suisse a ses propres règles et nous pouvons vous aider avec ces contraintes si vous le souhaitez.
Q. J’ai entendu dire que la Suisse peut être hostile aux étrangers et que l’intégration peut être difficile. Est-ce vrai?
R. Comme la plupart des lieux à forte densité étrangère, il y a d’ un côté les locaux et de l’autre une forte communauté d’expatriés résidents en Suisse romande. Parfois, ils se mélangent, mais vivent le plus souvent séparés. Il est fortement recommandé d’apprendre le français cela facilité l’accès immédiat à tous les aspects de la communauté, l’intégration passant d’abord par la communication. Dans les grandes stations de ski il y a que peu d’obstacles à une intégration rapide dans la communauté. Sur les rives du lac Léman, certaines communes enregistrent jusqu’à 40% d’étrangers inscrits comme résidents. Ces derniers travaillent principalement pour des ONG, sont dirigeants d’entreprise ou alors individus fortunés. La grande particularité est qu’ils ont tous tendance à se mélanger dans leur vie sociale. IL est tout à fait possible d’être à un repas ou à une fête avec un millionnaire et un travailleur humanitaire en congé venant d’un camp de réfugiés ! Les conversations peuvent être intéressantes…  Cependant, la plupart des familles aisées, qu’elles soient suisse ou étrangère ont plutôt tendance à être discrètes concernant leur fortune et, à cet égard, la société est assez différente de la Côte d’Azur, Monte Carlo ou encore les îles anglo-normandes. Une grande partie de cet aspect dépend de l’endroit où vous habitez. Genève ou Crans Montana sont des communes plus formelles et sont des régions riches de toute évidence, à l’inverse au bord du lac Léman et à Verbier les gens ont tendance à être plus discrets. La plupart des gens, de l’étranger, qui viennent s’installer ici ont des choses intéressantes à faire et à dire et beaucoup ont une expérience très riche.  Cela permet à un ensemble de communautés diversifiées de trouver facilement des personnes ayant la même manière de penser ou des centres d’intérêt similaires. Au début vous ne serez pas invités chez votre voisin suisse pour manger une fondue alors dans la communauté internationale vous serez accueillis plus rapidement. Montrez à votre voisin suisse que vous voulez vous intégrer et vous engager dans la vie locale et vos relations changeront immédiatement. Si vous n’êtes pas enclin à le faire il continuera à être poli, mais avec réserve.

Comments are closed.

FAQ’s

Q. Should we first look for a house, or sort out schools? What happens if we do one and cannot fix the other? Will our tax then be the same wherever we are?

tax-property-school

ANS. This eternal triangle is what most families face when moving here. The simple answer is that available housing stock in Switzerland is much lower than in US, UK or much of France for example. In recent years the international community has swelled putting pressure on all manner of local resources – although the quality of life here still remains very high. This has led to a shortage of school places, changing logistical and transportation  issues and sometimes harder choices to make. We always suggest that before you do anything we discuss in detail all your family needs, including but by no means limited to:
Will one or both of you be working?
If yes, will this be in Switzerland directly or alternatively will Switzerland be just a home base for you to look after your international affairs?
Do you have children and will they go to school here? Are they always likely to stay at school in Switzerland or move to a boarding school overseas at some stage?
Are you moving as part of a corporate or international institution or as an individual?
Do you regularly have to commute to a local destination?
Do you need regular airport access?
Will you or may you, buy another home, for instance to ski?
How much time will you spend in Switzerland?
Do you have an initial ‘feel’ for a location in the area? Why do you think this?
Will you be seeking a pre agreed tax agreement or pay tax from your income?

It is only after we have fully discussed all these issues with you that we can give real guidance on the eternal triangle: house/location versus tax versus schooling questions.

Q. Does it make a difference which canton I live in? I have heard there are three main cantons in Western Switzerland.
ANS.  There are in fact more than this although these three are where most international buyers move to. It can make a big difference, in many respects, in which one you live and we would discuss this with you at the outset.
Q.  Why are houses apparently so expensive here? Is this a good investment?
ANS. Good properties are very expensive in western Switzerland both on the lake and in the mountains – perhaps on a par with central London as a guide. This reflects the scarcity of larger Anglo Saxon type and size of accommodation and frankly the demand from overseas buyers to buy property. Houses can sometimes take longer to sell here but they nearly always do sell eventually as someone will be prepared to pay the price! However interest rates are very low by international standards in Switzerland and mortgages can be rather long term so that actual outgoings can be similar, or even cheaper, than a great many other locations. This is in fact one attraction in buying a property in Switzerland as this market normally achieves steady appreciation and historically has proven one of the most stable property markets in the world (Note: here we have to point out to our clients the usual disclaimer that of course prices can in certain circumstances go down as well as up). The outlook for Switzerland in terms of property prices is encouraging. The Swiss Franc is strong as it is seen as a safe haven currency and property investment in the country is considered by many to be as about a solid investment as they can make. By the same token rental accommodation Switzerland is very expensive and few who are not just temporarily based in Switzerland will wish to rent long term. It is important for those seeking to fix a pre agreed tax agreement that it is understood that the calculation for your taxation will start by looking at the deemed rental value of the house you own or are renting. If this applies to you this is something we should discuss with you at an early stage.
Q. Is it easy to find good proportioned houses here with modern layouts, kitchens and bathrooms?
ANS. This can be very difficult to answer as so often tastes and expectations differ. In general terms Swiss houses are smaller than many areas of the world- even the larger ones! Older ones can have smaller rooms and often small kitchens and formal dining rooms which is often not how modern families live. It is a strange feature of such older houses that however inconvenient, the front door is very often on the north side of the house. Modern houses can sometimes be insufficiently or inappropriately  finished for the discerning buyer, or poorly located. Of course there are some wonderful properties and it is our job to find the property which suits you. If we can’t find it exactly we have close relationships with an international but local, developer who has renovated some extraordinary properties in the region and can work with local architects to make something which is tailored personally for you.
Q. 5&M charges an upfront fee whereas other agents do not. I don’t understand why?
ANS The first thing we should point out is that this fee is deductable from the eventual sale as we will be paid a commission, as all agents are in Switzerland, by the vendor or their primary agent if it is not us. So by the time of purchase using Five & More costs you nothing just like any other real estate agency. However as we provide considerable upfront services and assist pro actively with all aspects of your move: considering tax, schools, other professional services and everything relating to the suitability of a location or property for you, then we have to protect ourselves against people who take all that knowledge and input and either don’t buy at all or buy elsewhere. If you are a serious purchaser we can provide fantastically more than a straightforward agent – all for no cost. We really will look at the suitability of what and where you are buying. We will always start from the eternal triangle of schools tax and house we look at means of transportation to work and timings and which schools you might get into. We are not just selling you a house! You just will not find this expertise and service elsewhere geared to the inward bound buyer.
Q. Is the buying process straightforward?
ANS. In normal cases it is. Quite often our clients are pressed for time and only able to visit Switzerland for short, intensive visits. We have experienced instances where clients have visited several houses over a couple of days and been to the notary, signed and left again – job done! For most this is not going to happen. It is often possible to agree an option on a house, usually only for a couple of days and usually without cost. This does enable time to reflect if it’s a short visit but where one property does seem particularly attractive. In Switzerland the notaire acts for buyer and seller and usually as the buyer you can choose the notary, should you have a preference. We tend to recommend one notaire with whom we have worked for many years and know to be thorough and efficient. Both Notaries (Father and daughter at this practise speak English). Most notaries and in particular our recommended one, will take you through the pitfalls of the process and even comment on terms of loans and other related factors, should they consider these to be inappropriately onerous. Signing initially for the property commits the purchaser to pay a non refundable deposit, usually 10% and then a ‘completion‘ date is set for the final sale. In the mean time the notaire will carry out local searches, look at any obvious legal issues with the property and examine any relevant servitude which may affect the property. A servitude is simple a legally binding agreement previously entered into by an owner of the property. For example where they may have agreed to keep a hedge below a certain height to avoid obstructing a neighbour’s view. Purchasers should also be aware that in this regard Switzerland’s  reputation for exactitude comes to the fore and most communes will have regulations about how high your trees are allowed to be, when you may not cut your grass (usually the ‘Sabbath’ day of rest!) and other sometimes unusual requirements. Some communes are quite onerous in their restrictions and some have relatively few. In general terms we can comment on many of these issues and if you require it can prepare a detailed report for that property and commune for a small fee. Mostly the buying process is straightforward and well governed in Switzerland.
Q. I need a loan either long term or temporarily to complete this purchase. How do I go about this?
ANS. This is one of the many reasons why choosing Five & More is a good idea. We have excellent relationships with all the relevant Cantonal banks, and main Swiss and international banks as well as a host of private banks throughout the country.
Q. Is it normal to have a structural survey completed of a property in Switzerland?
ANS. Surprisingly it often isn’t. New house come with a sellers guarantee of 2 years. For existing properties this does not exist. Our advice is that it is always prudent to have either an architectural or a full structural survey, unless it is certain that other guarantees apply. We can arrange this if it is required.
Q Can I buy in Switzerland if this is not my main residence?
ANS. It depends! In most ski stations it is possible but only for some properties as quotas exists. This also may mean that such properties command a higher price although this is not always the case as in some smaller villages there is a desire to encourage inward investment and there is less competition to buy. In Geneva and along the lake this is usually not possible although such discussion need to take place at our first meeting so that we can comment or seek appropriate advice.
Q. What is the real cost of living in Switzerland?
ANS.   Switzerland is often perceived, unfairly in our view, as a having a high cost domestic economy. This is not necessarily so compared to world metropolitan centres such as NYC, London & Paris and most definitely not compared to Moscow. It is also regarded by most as much cheaper than Monte Carlo. Much of the cost of living is similar to the UK, with many clothes, consumer durables and definitely petrol, being much cheaper. One of the biggest outgoings for many people is healthcare. Switzerland has a compulsory private healthcare system which is expensive but generally excellent! Anything which requires labour is very expensive in Switzerland as the labour market is very well protected. One by product of this though is that many craftsmen and artesian skills now missing in other economies are still readily available here. Given that cars and certainly petrol, are much cheaper than elsewhere, taxi’s are for some reason very expensive. In general terms though the overall cost of living is comparable to many others areas of the developed world. And, we have a wonderful lifestyle, climate, great chocolate, and stunning views!
Q. Is Switzerland safe?
ANS.  Nowadays we might say is anywhere safe? Any answer to this certainly makes us a hostage to fortune. However in general terms Switzerland is very safe and it is a key attraction of living here. You will still see small children walking to and from school by themselves, and random crimes against people are very low. One of the key attractions of living in Switzerland is that it is a safe, orderly and secure environment. House crime is increasing but compared to major metropolitan centres is very low. Society is very civil here. People usually give way at pedestrian crossings and say hello and good bye on entering and leaving shops and other public places. The way of life can be slower but most people very happily adapt to that quite quickly and appreciate the virtues of a more polite and civilised society.
Q. That sounds like Switzerland is rather boring which it has a reputation for! Is it true?
ANS. Downtown Geneva is never going to be NYC or London on a Saturday night. On the other hand many would claim that Verbier is even better! It all depends on your stage and circumstances in life. Switzerland is an ideal place to bring up a family and then live thereafter. If you are in your 20’s and seeking the bright lights then maybe there are other places to go. Many families choose to build their family lives around skiing on winter weekends or sailing or biking in the summer; the outdoor possibilities are endless. More conventional sports abound also. There is high level soccer, rugby and cricket played as well as tennis, ice hockey and basketball. It is certainly not all about sport however and the area is far from the cultural wasteland some outsiders imagine it to be. There are more museums per capita from Geneva to Montreux than virtually anywhere else in the world. Opera, Philharmonic and chamber orchestras are accessible if less so than in Paris or London. There are umpteen galleries in all towns, particularly Geneva and many visiting exhibitions of world renown. There is a thriving jazz and rock scene and infinitely more entertainment available than is generally perceived from outside or than it is possible to avail oneself of. In summer there are three major rock and jazz festivals headlined by the Montreux festival. Many major rock bands now visit Geneva and there is global class tennis and golf. Is it the Left bank or West End of London? No it isn’t but the general lifestyle is pretty unbeatable. And just remember: Paris and London are just an hour away on Easy (or Executive!) Jet and Paris and Milan only 3 to four hours by train.
Q. I am told that Switzerland is very bureaucratic?
ANS Like any country Switzerland can appear bureaucratic to those uninitiated in the local customs and practises. Contrary to their stereotypes (or maybe not) the US, UK and France are very bureaucratic places to live and work. Russia can be a minefield of bureaucracy to live in, for both native and foreigner alike! Switzerland has its own ways and we can help you with those (see fees section), if you wish, but it is in fact no better or worse than many places in terms of dealing with day to living administration, insurances, taxes, residency and the like.
Q.  I have heard that Switzerland can be unfriendly to foreigners and difficult to integrate into. Is it?
ANS. Like most centres with large foreign populations there is both a local and expat side to society in western Switzerland. Sometimes they mix but more often they are separate. Here language (French) is a great advantage as it allows immediate access to all aspects of the community and communication is the first part of being accepted. In the large ski resorts there are few barriers to immediate community assimilation. Along the lakeside, some communes have up to 40 % foreign registered residents. These may be working for NGO’s, corporate executives or high net worth individuals. The great thing is that they all tend to mix up in their social lives. There are fewer nationality ghettos than in many ex pat communities and surprisingly fluid socio economic mix of communities. It is quite possible to be at a dinner or party with a billionaire and an aid worker on leave from a refugee camp! Conversations can be interesting. However most well off families either from Switzerland or moving here, tends to be discreet about their wealth and in this respect society here is rather different from the Cote d’Azur or Monte Carlo or even the Channel Islands. Much of this depends where you live. Geneva or Crans Montana are more formal and in parts obviously wealthy, than say the lakeside or Verbier which tend to be more discreet (despite the UK ‘redtop tabloid‘ image of the latter). Most people who come here to live from abroad have interesting things to do and say and many are rich in experience. This makes for a diverse set of communities where it can be surprisingly easy to find those of like mind and similar interests as well as introducing some challenging new ones. You may not be invited around to a Swiss neighbour for fondue in the first few months but others in the international community will be more immediately welcoming. Show your local Swiss neighbours that you mean to be a genuine, ongoing and committed part of the community and they will unbend gradually. If you are not so inclined they may continue with a polite, but not unfriendly reserve, but then you probably won’t care anyway!
Q. I HAVE HEARD THAT BANKS ARE MORE CONSERVATIVE IN THEIR LENDING IN SWITZERLAND THAN ELSEWHERE ?
ANS. You should try a Canadian bank ! Seriously though banks are somewhat conservative in Switzerland although this is less noticeable now than before the recent recession as all banks have become much more cautious. Generally in Switzerland the loan to value ratio for a bank is about 60%. Banks generally therefore will start from an actual property valuation that may only be 60% of the market of the property as this fits their internal governance. This is usually a start point and with our introductions we can generally move this considerably, provided of course you are a bankable client ! We recently had a salaried client where the start point was 60% and we moved this enormously, after our guidance as to the actual provenance and employment situation of our client. Of course many of our clients do not need any loans and use capital to buy outright. Just occasionally such clients want to fund part or all of the purchase temporarily whilst they manage FX considerations. Such high net worth clients can often present the biggest problem to the bank as your assets are not always immediately visible – usually deliberatly ! Be patient we can usually get you through this process given our intimate knowledge of what the banks need and how to give them the comfort they require.

Comments are closed.